Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Tigers still on top after second day of AUS swim championships

Tigers still on top after second day of AUS swim championships

After two days of competition, the Dalhousie Tigers have increased their lead in both the women's and men's team results, more than doubling the team scores of their closest competitors.

Dalhousie's Phoebe Lenderyou was the first swimmer to find the top of the podium on day two. The AUS swimmer of the year won the women's 100m breaststroke, followed by Acadia's Rebecca MacPherson in second, and MtA's Madeleine Henry. Both Lenderyou and MacPherson posted CIS-qualifying times.

AUS female rookie of the year Lise Cinq-Mars (Dalhousie) grabbed her first individual gold medal of the championship, winning the 50m butterfly event. UNB's Charli LeBlanc was second, followed by Acadia's Alison MacEachern in third.

The Tigers Katherine Webster grabbed her third individual gold medal of the meet, winning the 400m freestyle in a CIS-qualifying time of 4:16.34. Fellow Tiger Claire Yurkovich was second, followed by UNB's Kayla Martin.

Acadia got the first podium sweep on the women's side, with Hannah Doiron grabbing gold in the 200m breaststroke. Fellow Axewomen Kayla Boudreau and Shania Wong were second and third, respectively.

In one of the tightest races of the night, UNB's Charli LeBlanc won the 50m freestyle in a time of 26.16. Dal's Lucy MacLeod was second (26.44), followed by Mount Allison's Allison Loewen (26.69). All three swimmers posted CIS-qualifying times.

The women's 200m butterfly event was won by Dalhousie's Rachel Shin. Tiger teammate Lise Cinq-Mars was second, followed by Acadia's Alison MacEachern. Both Shin and Cinq-Mars posted CIS-qualifying times.

The Tigers (Lenderyou, MacLeod, Cinq-Mars and Webster) won the 4 x 200m relay in a time of 8:21.58. Mount Allison was second, followed by UNB in third.

On the men's side, AUS rookie swimmer of the year Morrgan Payne won the 100m backstroke event. Following closely behind was fellow Tiger Tony Liew and Memorial's David Haines. All three posted CIS-qualifying times.

Memorial got their first win of the championships when Sam Leawood took the 50m butterfly event in a CIS-qualifying time of 25.21. Dalhousie's Mathieu Bernier was second, followed by Acadia's Patrick Henger in third.

The Tigers swept the podium in the men's 400m freestyle. Kyle Watson was first, followed by Tyler Herron and Peter Inches. Dalhousie's Keenan Teghtsoonian found himself at the top of the podium in the 200m breaststroke. Acadia's Adam Deutsch was second, followed by Dalhousie's Jeremy Ryant.

AUS male swimmer of the year Gavin Dyke (Dalhousie) won his third race of the meet, grabbing gold in the 50m freestyle. Mount Allison's Geraint Berger was second, followed by Memorial's Sam Leawood.

Dalhousie's James Profit won the 200m butterfly, with Mount A's Eric Lane and Memorial's Nicholas Sparkes finishing in second and third.

In the last event of the night, the Tigers (Dyke, Watson, Peter Inches and Tyler Herron) won the 4 x 200m relay, setting a new AUS record with a time of 7:29.02. Acadia placed second in the event, followed by Memorial.

At the end of the second day of competition, the team standings are as follows:

Dalhousie - 291
University of New Brunswick - 132
Acadia - 128
Mount Allison - 79
University of Prince Edward Island - 39

Dalhousie - 319
Memorial - 110
Acadia - 90
Mount Allison - 79
University of New Brunswick - 57
University of Prince Edward Island - 9

The action will get back underway tomorrow with heats starting at 10:00am, while the finals start at 6:00pm. You can catch all the action live online at