Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Schmuland & Walton earn RSEQ honours

Schmuland & Walton earn RSEQ honours

Tigers volleyball players Graham Schmuland and Jeffrey Walton have received RSEQ honours for their play this season.


RSEQ's Unveiled Student-Athlete Award Winners and All-Star Teams from this past season on Friday.

Red and Gold attack  Vicente Ignacio Parraguirre Villalobos  was named RSEQ Men University Volleyball  Player of the Year  for a fifth straight season. "Vicho" would have been the league's most valuable player over the course of his career. No other RSEQ athlete had ever managed that feat for more than three straight seasons.

The Chilean's relentless offense He kills the RSEQ in kills (4.74), kills (237) and offensive efficiency (44.8%). Vicho also excelled in an important defensive category: blocks. Parraguirre was ninth in the league with 0.76 stuffed blocks per set played.

Eduardo Luchese just completed his first year with the UNB Reds and he is the Rookie of the Year . A native of Bento Goncalves, Brazil, Luchese came to UNB after a couple of successful seasons with Botafogo Volleyball Club, a team he helped back-to-back Rio de Janeiro state championships. A first-year business administration student, Luchese has provided solid and reliable play on the outside, dominating opponents blocks. He's shown marked improvement over the course of the season, developing one of the most effective hitters in the country.

Philippe Carrier stood out on the field of play in the community and deserves the Leadership and Citizenship Award . The fifth-year player had a big role in his team's success with a second-place finish. The business student (HEC Montreal) also took part in the "All in the heat" initiative to collect money.

Laval coach  Pascal Clement  led to ict team hits 11 th  perfect season in team history. In his 27 th  season at Laval University, Clement wins the  Coach of the Year  award for 17 th  time. A year after failing to hang at RSEQ championship banner for the first time in 13 years, the Red and Gold returned more motivated than ever, losing only one of the 52 sets they played on their way to a record 16-0 record. 

Dalhousie Tigers Against the University of Laval Red and Gold The UNB Varsity Reds at the University of Montreal Carabins from February 22-24. The two winning teams will then meet in the finals over the March 8-10 weekend.

First All-Star Team
Vicente Ignacio Parraguirre Villalobos - Laval 
Gabriel Chancy - Montreal 
Eduardo Luchese - UNB 
Ethan Ellison - Laval 
Graham Schmuland - Dalhousie 
Yassine Kassis - Montreal 
Rémi Cadoret - Laval

Second All-Star Team
Mark Messier - Sherbrooke 
Alexandre Obomsawin - Laval 
Bradley Stewart - UNB 
Youssef Baati - Montreal 
Samuel Couturier - Sherbrooke 
Jeffrey Walton - Dalhousie 
Connor McConnell - UNB

Individual honors
Vicente Parraguirre Ignacio Villalobos - Laval - Montreal - Player of the Year 
Eduardo Luchese - UNB - Rookie of the Year 
Pascal Clément - Laval - Coach of the Year 
Philippe Carrier - Montreal - Leadership and Citizenship Award