Dal Tigers Hall of Fame Gala & Auction

Dal Tigers Hall of Fame Gala & Auction

This year's event will again be combined with our Hall of Fame Induction on Thursday, May 4, 2017 at the Westin Nova Scotian.

The evening features a reception for guests to view silent and live items, followed by a three-course dinner, Hall of Fame induction and live auction. Tables of 10 are $1,275 and individual tickets are $130.

Ticket Order Form

Master of Ceremonies:

Ken Reid, Sportsnet Central is back for his second stint as our master of ceremonies.

Class of 2017:

Adrienne Power
A member of the Dalhousie women’s track and field team (2000-2005), Adrienne is the most highly-decorated athlete in Dalhousie Tigers history. She won six gold, one silver and one bronze medal at the CIS championships in her five-year career. A three-time CIS first team all-Canadian, she was named the CIS athlete of the year and in 2005 and was a two-time AUS athlete of the year. Adrienne was also a five-time AUS all-star and accumulated 21 gold medals at AUS championships during her career, earning AUS track MVP honours thrice. The CIS 300m record she set in 2005 still stands today. She still holds five Dalhousie and three AUS records. Adrienne went on to represent Canada in Olympic, Pan American and Commonwealth games.

Al Scott
The winningest coach in Dalhousie history, Al earned 19 AUAA/AUS championship titles in his 20 years as head coach of the men’s volleyball team. A 12-time conference coach of the year, Al has a regular season win percentage of 94.44% and was selected as the CIAU/CIS coach of the year at the end of the 1988-89 season. A five-time Dalhousie coach of the year, Al led the Tigers to one silver (1997) and three bronze (1989, 1994 and 1995) medal finishes at the national championship.

David Fry
In David’s 16 years as head coach of the men’s and women’s swim teams, he led the Tigers to a nearly unblemished AUAA/AUS championship record, amassing 30 of 32 possible conference titles. During his tenure, David’s swimmers earned 20 medals at the national championships. A 10-time AUAA/AUS women’s and men’s coach of the year, David was named the CIS women’s coach of the year in 2003 and earned the same honour for the men’s team in 2007.

The Dalhousie A. J. Sandy Young Award will also be presented during the event. The award honours an individual for their outstanding contribution to sport in Nova Scotia. It was conceived by the late Dr. Sandy Young, a professor of sport history in the School of Health and Human Performance at Dalhousie. This year’s recipient is Dr. John McCabe.

Have someone you'd like to nominate?

2016 Hall of Fame Induction
2015 Hall of Fame Induction

The annual Dal Tigers Dinner & Auction raises valuable funds for the varsity and competitive club programs at Dalhousie University. Over $500,000 has been raised over the last 10 years and previous guests of honour include hockey legends Jean Beliveau, Wendel Clark, Lanny McDonald and Darryl Sittler, LPGA golfer Lori Kane, AHL President and CEO David Andrews, 'Crazy Canuck', skiier Steve Podborski, CFL greats Peter Dalla Riva and Tony Gabriel and Stanley Cup champion, Joe DiPenta.

Event Information

Angela Barrett-Jewers 902 494-2137 or abarrett@dal.ca